Twelve agents down. One has responded…

Publishing Contract

If you’ve followed my blog over the last couple weeks, you would have seen I’m currently undertaking a literary challenge. The challenge isn’t a competition, nor one I’ve joined with a group to achieve. It’s one I’ve given myself. Here’s the goal–to contact 100 literary agents in 100 days. I started twelve days ago. I’ve sent twelve queries. And guess what? One has responded.

Believe it or not, the agent who contacted me back is none other than Nancy Gallt. She represents blockbuster author Rick Riordan, of Percy Jackson & the Olympians fame. I honestly didn’t expect to hear back from her, and she was the first agent I queried on day one of my challenge. What did she say?

Well, she said no. Bummer. But I had no grand delusions that she would represent my work. I figured someone who represents an author like Rick is extremely selective. Although I knew in my heart she would say no, I tried anyway. When I got her reply–which was nice, by the way–it kind of sucked the wind out of me. I’m not even sure why, knowing my chances. But nonetheless it didn’t feel the greatest. Being told you’re not good enough never is.

Regardless, I’m not giving up. I still have another 99 potential rejections to go. Or, as the case may be, no responses at all. But you know what? It only takes one to say yes. Am I optimistic? You know it. Am I passionate about storytelling? Absolutely. And that’s why I won’t quit, no matter what. I believe my  novels will make it to a bigger audience–one day–and persistence is key.

At least that’s what I keep telling myself.

3 thoughts on “Twelve agents down. One has responded…

Leave a Reply

