Sold out at Creative Con!

Man, I had an awesome weekend at Creative Con. So much fun. I met insanely cool people, formed friendships with fellow creators, talked about writing on a panel…and sold out of Medical MECH. Oh, yeah! The new book was a huge success. It grabbed the attention of young readers, video gamers, anime and comic book fans–you name it. Needless to say, I was super stoked when I realized how well the book was selling. And what is more, my other titles did great, too.

You might think my favorite moment of the CON was selling out of my book, but you’d be wrong. Those of you who know me personally understand I have a passion for kids. I mean, heck, I’m a middle school teacher and I write young adult novels for crying out loud. During the first day of the event, when the place was filling up with Con-goers, a group of kids dressed in cosplay costumes mingled around upstairs. They went from vendor to vendor, stopping occasionally to sing, giggle or dance. The kids were having such a fun time, dressed up  and with like-minded people who “understood them.” Everybody needs a place to belong. And it touched my heart to see kids in a place where they could be themselves without fear or shame or judgement (something that goes on far too often among teenagers these days, enhanced by social media). I literally got goosebumps seeing kids having so much fun.

Among my other highlights, I enjoyed sharing a table next to Eitanya Designs–a husband and wife cosplay table where they sold props, armor, and geek-chic fashion accessories. You can see them in the above pictures, dressed as Lara Croft and Nathan Drake. A funny moment happened when an attendee asked him if he was dressed as Josh Gates from Expedition Unknown. Great stuff. I was dressed as Nathan Drake, too, but it’s not as obvious–which you can see in the pictures, too.

My favorite cosplayers were two women dressed as Noctis and Prompto from Final Fantasy XV; and another chick dressed as Cloud with his Buster Sword from Final Fantasy VII. If you’ve followed my gaming blogs on this Site, then you know how big of a Final Fantasy fan I am. Pretty cool costumes.

Anyway, I’m exhausted from the Con. But it was worth it. New readers have access to my books. I met great people. Made friends. And I had the privilege to be part of the Creative Con experience. It doesn’t get any better than that.

Leave a Reply

